# File versioning

**File Versioning** allows you to keep and download multiple versions of a single file. Files with the same file name and type are automatically saved as the latest version.

**File Versioning** ensures that changes are not lost between updates or edits. Any user with download permissions on the folder can view the available file versions for a given file.

## Upload a new version of a file

When **File Versioning** is enabled, uploading a file type with the same file name displays as the latest version.

> **Note:**
>
> Each version counts toward the account storage limit.

When users download a file that has multiple versions, the latest version will be downloaded. To access previous versions of a file, click the blue versioning icon.

![File versioning 1](https://docs.sharefile.com/en-us/sharefile/assets/5a76c4161118311d0e1b63e15a81ff6d/file-versioning-1.png)

![File versioning 2](https://docs.sharefile.com/en-us/sharefile/assets/1156e1713e677bd327f1fb98d1addd3f/file-versioning-2.png)

## Access Versions

The icon indicates a file with multiple versions. Click the icon to view previous versions of the file. You can download or delete as needed.

![File versioning 3](https://docs.sharefile.com/en-us/sharefile/assets/7e5446d11ed65c59539834a45d047bbb/file-versioning-3.png)

![File versioning 4](https://docs.sharefile.com/en-us/sharefile/assets/89856c3c9188842f64517afe10fcdd32/file-versioning-4.png)

## Number of Versions

By default, file versioning saves unlimited versions of a file allowing you to see the entire history. You can configure an account-wide default setting and manage version count on a folder-by-folder basis.

### Account Default

An Admin user on the account can customize the account-wide default by navigating to **Advanced Preferences** > **File Settings** > **Versioning**.

### Individual Folder

To view advanced folder settings, access the **More Options** menu beside the Folder Name.

> **NOTE:**
>
> Enabling or disabling file versioning on the folder level requires the **Admin** permission on the folder.

On the folder options screen, use the **Maximum Versions** drop-down menu to pick the number of versions that can be saved. You can select **Custom** to enter a different value.

You can choose to apply the same setting to all of the subfolders of a folder. When you are finished, select **Save**.

![File versioning 5](https://docs.sharefile.com/en-us/sharefile/assets/d4bec8b4d1268fc29ca2cc1b682e9716/file-versioning-5.png)

## FAQ

### What happens if I upload another version of a file when file versioning is disabled?

When versioning is disabled, uploading a new version of a file with the exact same file name overwrites the current file.

> **NOTE:**
>
> Similar file names are treated as a new entity.

### What happens if I disable **File Versioning** on a folder?

Previous versions of your file are not removed. The latest version of your file is displayed within your folder.

Uploading a new version of a file overwrites the latest file version. The older versions are "stacked" beneath the latest version of the file.
