Upgrade Client to Employee User
For various reasons it may be necessary to Upgrade a Client user to an Employee user. Some reasons include:
- An error may occur when adding a client user with the company email domain (@yourcompany.com) to a folder. Account licensing requires these users to be added as employee users.
- An error may occur when a client user attempts to login to applications that require employee licensing (i.e. ShareFile for Outlook, UMT, etc.).
To upgrade a client user (intended for external users) to an employee user:
- Navigate to People > Browse Clients.
- Browse or search for the user.
- Click the Manage icon located to the right of the user’s name and email address to access their profile.
- Under the Actions menu on the right side, select Upgrade to Employee.
- You can customize the user's basic information and permissions before saving as a new employee user.
Requirements:
Employee user with the allow this user to manage employee users and allow this user to manage client users permissions.